Follow the Grain Bread

In response to the one and only comment I’ve received so far on my blog, I’m posting a recipe along with this post (Thanks to Pipeline for posting my first comment through Vingle).

This is a bread recipe I came up with. I wanted a bread to fit a loaf pan and make some chock full of seed light-ish wheat bread. It’s great for toast and works great for tuna fish sandwiches. I hope someone tries this and enjoys the end product. Keep baking and enjoy! Dan.

homemade bread, whole wheat bread, whole grain bread

Cut me up and call me toast. This bread is nutty and delicious.

Follow the Grain Bread

Ingredients:
• 1 1/2 Cups Water (temp. 100ºF)
• 1 tblsp. yeast
• 2 tblsp. date sugar (1 tblsp. 1 tsp. if using sugar or maple syrup)
• 1 Cup whole wheat flour
• 2 Cups bread flour (I use King Arthur unbleached white bread flour)
Note: flour amounts could range to recipe needing about 1 extra cup. Add 1/4 at a time. to form a pretty tight dough. Start with 3 cups in mixer for at least 2-3 minutes before you add anything.
• 1 tblsp. + 1 tsp. whey powder (or could use dry milk solids)
• 2 tsp. salt
• 2 tsp. shortening
For seeds (you could make many substitutions to this):
• 1/4 cup dark flax seeds
• 1/4 cup regular flax seeds
• 1/4 cup sesame seeds
• 4 tblsp. sunflower seeds
Reserve 1/4 cup for top
Directions:
Activate yeast for 10 minutes in water with sugar. Add other ingredients and knead at speed 2 for 8 – 10 minutes. Rise one hour, punch down and form into ball, rise another hour, punch down and form into loaf pan lightly greased with cooking spray (I use Pam olive oil). Slit top with razor blade or sharp knife. Brush loaf with water and sprinkle 1/2 of remaining seeds on top (I know you have left over, you could use more. I used the rest for a snack).
Let loaf rise for one to one-and-half hours (I like to go as long as I can).
Cook at 400ºF for 25 minutes. Lower temperature in oven to 350ºF and cook for another 10 minutes (Loaf should read 200ºF in the center).
Cool loaf on rack for at least an hour. When cool, I store my loaves in used store-bought loaf bread bags. Use a good sharp bread knife and slice as you like. This bread is very good with tuna and makes killer toast. Enjoy. Dan.

Leave a Reply

