The bacon and the bagel

The answers to the inevitable questions this post will invoke: oh yes I can, and oh yes I did. This lump of dough is destined to be bacon bagels by this afternoon. I’ve never tried it before. I did a small amount of research online, and it certainly has been done. But I went on my own bagel recipe and just basically added bacon. I went with the tried and true culinary formula: bacon = everything is better. More photos to come. Dan.

IMG_5614

The dough ball is full of bacon. Eleven pieces kneaded gently in.

IMG_5615

The bagels are proofing. The proof is in the bacon,

the bacon is in the proof.

IMG_5617

Boiling bacon bagels.

IMG_5619

In the oven my little pretties.

IMG_5629

My brown crispy beauties. They’re crispy on the outside and feel nice and light on the inside. Stay tuned for the carving ceremony later.

IMG_5637

Aaaahhhh yeah! Just right. Ready for the toaster.

 

Leave a Reply

